Musings on Blessed John Paul II’s Feast Day

Just as salt gives flavor to food and light illumines the darkness, so too holiness gives full meaning to life and makes it reflect God’s glory.


Today marks the feast of Blessed John Paul II. As I recall some of my favorite quotes said by this holy and beloved man, I am inspired.

I keep a journal that contains thoughts, musings, aspirations, and prayers, mainly of what I feel are “inspirations of the Holy Spirit”, God’s voice speaking to my heart. Today I looked though several entries from the past several weeks and there seems to be a running thread, what I feel God is calling me to for this time, for this moment, and probably for the rest of my life.

This past year has been a year full of challenges within our family, physically, mentally, spiritually. And I tend to think too much. I make up elaborate plans to take care of difficulties in my life and that of those close to me. Many times, I act as though I need to take care of everything. I need to come up with a plan. ‘Cause who else will? I now realize that I have been getting in the way of God’s plan. He will take care of me and all those I love. And God’s plan is always good and all good. It has been an incredibly exhausting year because I was following my dumb and imperfect plan instead God’s beyond-brilliant and perfect plan. I am not saying that I didn’t hear God during those challenging times, but I am saying that many times, I just took over and worried about the plan.

October 15th was the feast day of St. Teresa of Avila. She writes:

It is a great good to think that if we try, we can become saints with God’s help…Let us put our hands to the task…and have a holy daring.

By “holy daring”, she is challenging us to a life of holiness, personal holiness. She is calling us to strive for sainthood, indeed radical sainthood.

Do not be afraid. Do not be satisfied with mediocrity. Put out into the deep and let down your nets for a catch.
~Blessed John Paul II

So what does that mean for me? As Blessed JP II writes:

Holiness is to raise one’s eyes to the summits. It is intimacy with God the Father who is in Heaven. In this intimacy, each one of us is aware of our nature, with all its limitations and difficulties.”

It means serious “me and God” time because if I want to be that loving, compassionate, joyful, peaceful, trusting, patient, kind person that I hope to be someday (like today), it means I gotta learn from the Master. My life is incredibly busy but I know I can make time. It is possible. And as I spend time with my Father, I will learn to trust his incredible plan for my life and for my loved ones.

It sounds like a perfect plan.

Leave a Reply

